working full time with Fibromyalgia

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by janenec, Jan 12, 2010.

1. janenec

janenec New Member

I currently work full-time as a clinical supervisor of a drug outpatient facility and I have a husband and two children. I was diagnosed with FM in 2006 and as the years have gone by the pain is getting worse. I struggle through my work day only to come home and have to go to sleep because of my intense pain and exhaustion. Is there anyone out there that is making this work? I will be completely appreciative of any suggestions. By the way, I take Cymbalta, Celebrex, Adderall (to help me stay awake and concentrate), Ellavil(to help me sleep at night), Oxycodone for the pain when needed and a multivitamin.
  2. janderson6791

janderson6791 New Member

I have no idea if your pain is the same as mine but when I really hurt somewhere on my body I cut off the blood circulation for a bit. I know this sounds wierd but it helps. I take tight rubber bands and wrap them around my arms or legs. I also sit on my legs to make them fall asleep and that sometimes helps. I am also super flexible because of the pain. Stretching my arms behind my back or in a wierd position helps relieve the pain for a moment. I also have a table that you strap your self into and then hang upside down. I think its called inversion table. That also helps me when I am in a lot of pain. Its sounds like you are on all the right meds to help. I guess the rest is up to you. Keep moving because sitting around allows you to focus on the pain. I have always wanted to find a way to sleep while walking on treadmill. I wish you luck on your journey!
    Jennifer
  3. Janalynn

Janalynn New Member

Hi Jane,
    I've had Fibro for most, if not all of my adult life but officially diagnosed only a few years ago. I've worked full time and sometimes two jobs because I've had another interest in something.