Working with the "Brain Fog"

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by smithje77, Feb 27, 2006.

1. smithje77

smithje77 New Member

How does everyone hold down a full time job with this horrible brain fog. I am a computer programmer, and even with lighter workload I still have a horrible brain fog after a few hrs of work. Any tips? I have been making tons of notes and following a list, but it wont help when I get to this point.

Tips are appreciated?
    Thanks
    Joy
  2. pemaw54

pemaw54 New Member

I worked for 5 months as a sec, receptionist for a huge highschool with fibro.. I had to write everything down. I would transpose phone #s. Forget to give messages to the principal.
    It was awful. I would come home and go to bed for at least 3 hours, get up, fix something fast and easy and be back in bed by 8:00pm. My poor husband got used to tuna fish sandwiches and hamburgers for supper. I loved my job!!!

I had been there for 4 yrs and everyone loved me and I loved them too. Finally in Oct after 6 mths with the pain becoming greater by the wk, I had to take pension disability. I hate being home. You feel worthless without that contribution coming in. Now im home alone all day. I lost all of my work friends, they work and I dont. The last week, the pain has been the worse ever. Im hanging on by a thread. My hubby is wonderful but everytime I think he understands, he says something stupid and I realize that noone but us understand. Sorry for rambling, Im full of pain pills today. I dont think I helped you at all but I will continue to pray for all of you. You will know if and when you can nolonger work.

Suzette

3. Cindyvr

Cindyvr New Member

Sometimes I don't think there really is anything you can do about it. What about working part time?