XMRV.. is it related to Fibro?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sweetbeatlvr, Oct 22, 2009.

1. sweetbeatlvr

sweetbeatlvr New Member

i'm a little confused with all the new info on Xrmv.

i definately see that it is related to CFS, but is it thought to be a cause of Fibromyalgia too?

in the beginning of my quest to find out what was wrong with me, my titres to EBV and CMV were extremely high. my first diagnosis was chronic mono. eventually i was diagnosed with FMS though.

just curious if this may be something i should be excited about for me?
  2. PoodlesMom

PoodlesMom New Member

I read in one of the articles that it is a strong possibility that it is related to FM also.

If I come across the article again I'll let you know.

Sorry if this is not the proper way of answering. This is my first time.

All the best.

3. UsedtobePerkyTina

UsedtobePerkyTina New Member

A small number of FM were also seen to have higher rate of XMRV than healthy controls.

But, you need to know that many people likely carry the FM diagnosis but may have CFS or both CFS and FM.

Doctors are much more apt to diagnose FM than CFS. And they both have very similar symptoms.

4. PoodlesMom

PoodlesMom New Member

That's what happened in my case, as well. For years it was FM and I
    was seeing DR St. Amand and Stanford. Then when I kept getting
    worse my own GP started with all the tests and came up with the
    Epstein Barr, Candidas Albicans, very low Natural Killer cells, etc...my
    immune system is out of whack, thyroid problems, low body temp. It
    keeps on and on. I know the difference in FM and CFS because I have
    both. Neither one are fun at all. I wouldn't wish this on anyone.

5. Cinderbug

Cinderbug New Member

you should check out the Whittemore Peterson Institute's web site. I did see some info on there that they believe Fibro to also be connected to XMRV

6. lvjesus

lvjesus Member