Young adult in need of advice on CFS

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kamui957, Oct 24, 2011.

1. kamui957

kamui957 New Member

Currently I'm 24 years old, male, and in late 08, early 09 I was told that I had both Chronic Mono and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome by my doctor after several months suffering with no answer from clinics and immediate care centers. I was a student at the time and ended up being kicked out of college because they refused to present to me Medical Leave of Absence papers when I requested them and due to my decreased stamina and constant mental fog it never occurred to me until several months later to look them up online. I spent most every day in bed and when I was awake, I was barely coherent. My doctor provided several notes and invitations for them to call him but nothing helped.

It's been a few years and employment has been shaky at best. I gravitate towards Help Desk work, but at times even that is difficult. I have days where I can't bring myself to leave the house because I feel so bad, which has a very negative impact on attendance, obviously.

I'm not really sure what to do. I'm trying to save up to pull myself out of the debt that I went into keeping myself afloat while I was sick (and some bad decisions that I was coaxed into while sick). I have tried researching to see if I can qualify for any forms of disability benefits. It is all very confusing and due to my age it seems impossible to get any help. I'm without health insurance because I can't afford it, though the place I just started working from home for seems to offer it, but even this job is increasingly difficult as it is a customer service job, and when you can hardly keep yourself mobile and feeling well, dealing with the kings and queens of first world issues is an oddly taxing job.