Young male with FM in DC area help

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia and ME & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome' started by rfarwell5, Sep 22, 2008.

1. rfarwell5

rfarwell5 New Member

Hi everybody. I'm a 23 year old male living in the Washington D.C. area. I've been battling FM for over 5 years now. On top of all of the pain, what seems to hurt the most is how alone I feel. The few people in my life have no comprehension of fibromyalgia or the many ailments that accompany it.

I try my hardest to live one day at a time, but it is so exhausting. My family doesn't talk to me because they've admitted that they feel helpless in easing my suffering and/or don't understand what I'm going through.

Also, I feel even more alone being a male with FM - on top of being a gay male. I often wonder if there is anybody out there in the whole planet that is able to relate to me!

I really think I would benefit from a support group, but I would feel very out of place (no offense) in a group of all middle-aged women. Anybody out there?
    [This Message was Edited on 09/23/2008]
  2. vannafeelbettr

vannafeelbettr New Member

Sorry to hear of your suffering. The message boards here are not only a great place to connect with others, but you can learn so much here as well. I'm not a middle-aged woman myself (unless you consider someone in her 30's middle-aged) but I've seen plenty a 20 somethings who have this disease as well here. Why don't you put up a post to ask who is is their 20's?? I've seen that thread title on here within the month. But, word to the wise, you shouldn't rule out the wisdom the middle (and older) women (and men) have that could help you TREMENDOUSLY with your coping. Also, it doesn't matter if you are gay, straight, bi, or crooked. You are human.... a disease is a disease and does not discriminate.

I hope you find what you are looking for and welcome aboard!!!
  3. Rafiki

Rafiki New Member

men here, there are gay people here, there are young people here.