young + scared..

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by pinkstar, Sep 6, 2005.

1. pinkstar

pinkstar New Member

hi all... i'm kinda new to these posts.. my name is Lauryn + i am 20 yrs old.. i was just diagnosed with fibro, but i've been suffering with symptoms for yearrrs.. i am an art major.. and i am so scared that my degree will be useless.. everything hurts so bad lately.. everyone tells me not to let the disease take over, but it's SO hard when i am in SO much pain.. just walking make it act up.. it's like i am in this never ending flare-up and i have no time to truly get better with school and work and all.. i feel like this is consuming me.. i'm always so tired and i can't even keep up the pace with pregnant people.. i'm so frustrated, but i don't know what i can do to make this better.. celebrex isn't helping, my doctor is a dolt.. i need some relief before i go nuts... :[

i had such a hard childhood and now i finally am on my own i thought i could regain SOME of it, but now this is debilitating me.. it never ends.. something is ALWAYS wrong.. i wish i could be normal again...

-Lauryn
  2. Rose_Red

Rose_Red New Member

Oh honey,

I was 22 when I was diagnosed. I was married for 1 1/2 yrs and my daughter was just a baby. I remember how scared I was. I'm talking like I'm so old - I'm 32 now and it gets easier to deal with.

You're lucky. You're young and you still have the chance to fight this off before it can get worse.

There is so much more research and knowledge about our condition then there was 10 years ago. There are so many things that you can do to help you. You have so much more hope then I did 10 years ago.

I know it doesn't feel like it now but maybe you'lll be able to see the brighter side of this. I know it sux! Find a doc that's not a dolt! Try a rheumatologist - they seem to know the most about fms.