taking care of mom, husband feeling left out | ProHealth Fibromyalgia, ME/CFS and Lyme Disease Forums

taking care of mom, husband feeling left out

ProHealth CBD Store

kathyh2o

I have been taking care of my mom for 2yrs now, mom has ad.
It is affecting my relationship with my husband and I feel like I have no controll over what is happening. Or maybe I just don't have the energy to know what to do. Is anyone out there caring for a parent and living with their spouse?

Ger

I lost my Mother to alz 12 or so years ago and now my husband has it. It has been more than 10 years since I first noticed it with him. So I have had lots of experience. I also have some firm instructions to my family should this become my lot.

I did not recognize Alz in my Mom at all after my Mom died. I thought it was just a bit of senility. I had never been around it before. I probably would have said as do many others that I would never put a family member in a facility--but I do not say that now.

My brother, sister and I took turns with Mom for several years and then I took her to a facility. I was not happy with this arrangement and ended up determined to take care of her myself. I found it so overwhelmingly difficult and too disruptive to the family I still had at home. I was already familiar with facilities so I had my sister come up and put her in the one I considered the best (I left town for several days). I spent time there almost every day with her. I got to know and enjoy all of the patients. My family have strictest instructions that there are not to even think about caring for me at home. I did buy long term care insurance after Mom passed. This has been a life saver with my husband. So my firm wishes are to be placed in a good facility and visited often.

I know this is hard. I have done it. I placed my husband a year and a half ago. So I have been through it twice now.